WDIDT: Veggies #Write31Days

#Write31Days. 1 Topic, 31 Days, Lots of Thoughts.  This year I am reflecting on one small moment a day and why it mattered (or didn’t!). What did I do today?

14704912_1812783395625970_6331178760951300096_n1

Folks. That is Bok Choy. Well, that is the base of what was bok choy. (Isn’t it pretty!)

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it, but my husband is a professional chef (yes, it is as amazing as it sounds – also, lifesaving for our family, I am a terrible cook, we would all suffer without him).

Since he is a professional chef I cook almost NEVER. Now, he is away for work a lot so I do cook some but let’s be honest – I am heating up what he already cooked or I am using a recipe that he has provided.

Today though, he is gone for work, I am on kitchen duty.

Every week we get fresh veggies from a local farm – I don’t ever want them to go to waste so today was the day I did something new, explored the world of Bok Choy.

While cutting up the veggies and figuring out the best way to store them and what we could use right now and what to save for later I was thinking about rhythm.

Life rhythm. Those things we do all the time, like eating, that is both essential and when done right, enjoyable.

There are so many small essential things when you are the part time working mom of 5. Laundry, meals, transportation. Life rhythm finds a hum and you just go with it. It is easy to miss the enjoyable in the essential.

We all have to eat. I dread it when I’m on cook duty. Yet, tonite, as that funny little Bok Choy end lay on my stove, I wasn’t dreading anything. The hum had become a tune, and an enjoyable one at that.

What did you do today that is both essential and enjoyable?

Leave a Reply

