WDIDT: Got Excited #Write31Days

#Write31Days. 1 Topic, 31 Days, Lots of Thoughts.  This year I am reflecting on one small moment a day and why it mattered (or didn’t!). What did I do today?

pexels-photo-106225-large

Everyone seems to talk about balance. Work life balance. Marriage and parenting balance. Selflessness versus selfishness balance.

It’s tiring.

The cultural conversation surrounding balance has frequently made me a crazy person.

The idea that having a balanced life, of being many things to many people, having it all – it is a cultural lie. One that shapes us.

A lie that keeps us from joy.

I’m trying to fight that lie in my own life. I’m trying to be present in the every day moments and experience them mind, heart, soul and strength as they are meant to be experienced.

That means today I got EXCITED!

At this juncture in my life there are a handful of exciting opportunities being presented to me…partnering with my city in city government, serving in my job as a visionary, championing growth and possibility in my community…it is all SO EXCITING!

In the past I would have been very meticulous and made lists of pros and cons for all these things. Really spent a lot of time mapping out possible future paths for each one. I would have tried to figure out how to say yes to each and every one just so I wouldn’t miss out on a good thing.

I would have sacrificed my right now reality for an undefined future ideal.

Now, now I find joy in the opportunity. I walk patiently and slowly into each one. I say yes with enthusiasm when it makes sense and no without guilt when it isn’t the right fit.

Let us find JOY in the daily opportunities!

What made you excited today?

Leave a Reply

