WDIDT: The Big Cover Up #Write31Days

#Write31Days. 1 Topic, 31 Days, Lots of Thoughts.  This year I am reflecting on one small moment a day and why it mattered (or didn’t!). What did I do today?

pexels-photo-29992-large

It’s fall, it’s chilly, my husband is off for a week of work travel. The kids are up, I’m struggling.

The kids are dressed, ready to head to church in a little bit. Everyone is sitting down at the table and I’ve just served them breakfast. And I’m still struggling.

So, with everyone munching away, I head back up to my room, plop down back on my bed and pull the covers over my head.

It’s not anything in particular. All the kids are healthy, things are good at home, work has been busy but good.

It is just that gut feeling. Where it just “feels” like a hard day.

I know, raising the white flag at 8:15am on a Sunday morning and throwing the covers over my head is not the must adult response. Yet, it was.

In those few quiet moments, with the kids giggling a few rooms away and the calm of the dark enveloping me, I started to pray.

Maybe plea is a better word. It wasn’t a gratitude filled, joy filled, reflective prayer. This prayer was full of my weak, tired, incapable self. I asked, begged, for hope, for help, for the sun to shine in my soul and my attitude and heart to be changed.

I laid there until I heard one of the kids asking for more breakfast. I took a deep breath, threw off the covers and headed back to the kids.

The day, was fine. It was more than fine. I was full of peace, felt rested  and enjoyed my family and friends.

So maybe hiding under the covers isn’t the most mature thing to do but it was sure good for my soul.

What did you do to take care of your soul today?

Leave a Reply

