WDIDT: Examples #Write31Days

#Write31Days. 1 Topic, 31 Days, Lots of Thoughts.  This year I am reflecting on one small moment a day and why it mattered (or didn’t!). What did I do today?

pexels-photo-102155-large

Do you ever look around your house and think ‘Man, I wish some one would _______.’

Yeah, me too.

The last couple weeks have been really busy. Between work projects and my husband being home on vacation, seasons changing, babies teething – the thing that has seemed to get away from me is my house.

It wasn’t a disaster. We all do chores and my husband has been great about keeping up on laundry and the kitchen while he’s been home. But the little things…

Dustbunnies on the stairs

Piles next to the mailslot

School papers from the last 3 weeks

Clean towels stacked at the bottom of the stairs

Bins that needed returned to the basement

When I see these things in the midst of busy days I think ‘Man, I wish someone would just sweep the stairs’ or ‘Can’t someone just throw those papers away’.

And they can, and often they do. Our kids do fairly well at managing their rooms, homework and assigned chores. But what about all the unassigned things?

Well, today, I tackled those before I did anything else. And, instead of adding to my kids to-do list on their day off school, I chose example over effort.

Sometimes our kids need to see us doing the things we often ask them to do. Our kids need to see us serving them in practical and tangible ways – with a smile on our face. Maybe every once in awhile our kids need to be invited to join us in the tasks of life without the obligation of saying yes – knowing that their presence is still welcome if they say no.

Yes, I want my kids to be self-sufficient. Yes, I would have rather been doing other things. Yes, they are big enough to help.

Yet, I want them to know what it looks like to practically be a part of a family where EVERYONE participates in big and small tasks. I don’t just drive people around, pay bills and give orders. I also organize books on the shelf so you can see them because you love to read, go through school papers and put a really excellent mark on the fridge to celebrate you, fold the living room blankets and make sure to put your most favorite one on top.

It was lovely. The little kids played with the baby and the big kids sat in the living room and chatted with me for a bit. One decided to go play outside and the other offered to help. Eventually they both found themselves helping, without being asked or told.

Today was a day of example setting. Let us show others what it looks and feels like to live loved.

Where were you an example for someone today?

Leave a Reply

