WDIDT: Away Message #Write31Days

#Write31Days. 1 Topic, 31 Days, Lots of Thoughts.  This year I am reflecting on one small moment a day and why it mattered (or didn’t!). What did I do today?

pexels-photo-58420-large

Weekends can get filled with a lot of things. Errands, sleep, kids activities, friends, chores. Recently, my weekends have been filled with a lot of work.

Confession: I like working. Resting is hard. I’m a worker bee by nature.

What Did I Do Today: I put an “away” message on all my email. 

I know, this seems like a super small thing. There are all kinds of studies about rest, quiet time, meditation…books about time, a 4 hour work week and the fringe hours of your life.

I know, I’ve read them but it is a little hard to fight our natural bent.

BUT! I do want to do better. I do want to spend fully focused time with my family, learn a better rhythm of rest and just be.

So, step 1, set boundaries. Step 2, make yourself accountable to those boundaries.

So, I said no email, told my husband it was a done deal and I meant it and then informed those who might be affected by the change.

It is a small thing, but I’ve already been able to enjoy my afternoon more! Less rushing, more listening and an overall sense of rest.

Small things matter. An out of office email, a phone on silent, a screen free day.

People will always matter more than things, money or success. The less email I read and respond to this weekend, the more time I am fully with the people that matter to me most.

Today, I am determined to not let the work of living deplete the one life I’ve been given.

What boundary did you set today? 

Leave a Reply

