Time…Atrophy

In January I’ve decided to share some thoughts on time…check back and enjoy.

Clock

I said to my husband today “I understand why our physical bodies begin to atrophy when we stop moving. When you stop it is just easier to stay put then it is to get up and go.”

Over the last month I’ve had to slow waaaaayyyy down. As we expect our 5th baby my body just isn’t as young or cooperative as it was when we had our 1st baby almost 9 years ago. (Yeah, I commuted on a city train and worked until I was 41 weeks 4 days with that first baby…)

The first couple weeks were so irritating. I wanted to go, go, go even though my body (and my Dr.) said that wasn’t a good idea.

As I have fallen into a slower pattern I have found it harder and harder to go and easier and easier to roll back over and just fall back asleep.

But I don’t want to atrophy.

I don’t want my body to freeze up. It is going to need to be strong to deliver this baby.

I don’t want my mind to go numb. It needs to be sharp to be the mama leader my kids need and the wife love my husband needs.

I don’t want my soul to settle into discontent. It is not the calling of the soul to discontentment but to hope.

And so I sit and I think about Charles Dickens…”It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair…” (A Tale of Two Cities)

And I sit and ponder Ecclesiastes 3…

There is a time for everything,
    and a season for every activity under the heavens:

    a time to be born and a time to die,
    a time to plant and a time to uproot,
    a time to kill and a time to heal,
    a time to tear down and a time to build,
    a time to weep and a time to laugh,
    a time to mourn and a time to dance,
    a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
    a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,
    a time to search and a time to give up,
    a time to keep and a time to throw away,
    a time to tear and a time to mend,
    a time to be silent and a time to speak,
    a time to love and a time to hate,
    a time for war and a time for peace.

What do workers gain from their toil? 10 I have seen the burden God has laid on the human race. 11 He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet[a] no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.

So I will not atrophy. Instead I will ponder time and seasons. I will reflect on what is, what was and what is to come.

My friend Bridget talked about her “one word” this year. And while I am not sure my one word is time I think my biggest lesson might be…

Leave a Reply

