Excitement, Energy and Love…A Birthday Reflection

November

November really is the best month to have a birthday in. I just had mine and it was lovely. A perfect mix of family, friends and of course food.

There’s something really life giving about being reminded that your humanity matters. This year I was also reminded about how thankful I am for the life I have been given.

That’s why November is such a great birthday month. As I enter the month I am reminded that my days and hours matter and the life I have been given is a gift. Then, it’s Thanksgiving…

I love the social media trend of people listing off day by day the many things they are thankful for. Family and friends, jobs and homes, travel and extra special moments.

This past week I was reminded of a book on my shelf from this last year. A group of us spent a semester reading through and talking through Ann Voskamp’s 1000 Gifts.

If you’ve never read it I would highly recommend it but I do so with caution. Voskamp talks about ALL the aspects of Thanksgiving. Not just the pretty, feel good moments, but how to find Thanksgiving in the dark, ugly, hard moments.

I don’t have the energy at the moment to list out day to day the many things I am thankful for. But I am thinking about it.

In the last weeks there have been some very high highs and some relatively low lows in my own life. Everything from the joy of a new baby being added to our family next year to our oldest child being almost unmanageable due to weather and time change. Moments where it is so easy to be thankful and others where it is a struggle.

So here’s the encouragement for today. Celebrate something. Light a candle that smells like fall, collect a few pretty leaves, eat a crazy dessert with your kids, take a nap…whatever brings excitement, energy and love into your life today, do that!

For THIS is the day that the Lord has made we will REJOICE and be GLAD in it!  Let’s at least try!

Leave a Reply

