(#31Days) Disappointing

Enough Grace

I disappoint.

I disappoint family when I am not connected enough to what is happening to those I have known the longest and love the deepest.

Your grace is enough
Your grace is enough
Your grace is enough for me

I disappoint friends when I don’t communicate well or accidentally exclude someone or speak out of turn.

Your grace is enough
Your grace is enough
Your grace is enough for me

I disappoint those I am merely acquainted with when I don’t listen when we are briefly together or don’t kindly acknowledge them in a crowd.

Your grace is enough
Your grace is enough
Your grace is enough for me

I disappoint myself when I don’t live up to my own expectations or follow through on a promise I made.

Your grace is enough
Your grace is enough
Your grace is enough for me

Recently I have been faced with my own failures, faults and shortcomings. As I’ve acknowledged them and tried to work through them I’ve learned something else about myself; sometimes I hold the acceptance and forgiveness of others over the grace of God.

Your grace is enough
Your grace is enough
Your grace is enough for me

As we acknowledge our failures, ask for forgiveness and seek reconciliation we are partially dependent on the response of others. When I receive a neutral or negative or even no response from others, I let it eat away at me. I let it begin to define who I am.

Your grace is enough
Your grace is enough
Your grace is enough for me

In that same moment I am also rejecting who God says I am. When we wholeheartedly follow the call God has for us we have to trust Him to work out the details. We have to trust him to heal our relationships. We have to trust Him to continue to change our hearts.

Your grace is enough
Your grace is enough
Your grace is enough for me

We have to believe that Grace is ENOUGH! Grace, the unearnable gift! The promise of forgiveness and restoration not because of our submission or guilt or confession but because of JESUS. Because Jesus will always be enough.

Your grace is enough
Your grace is enough
Your grace is enough for me

As I continue to struggle to restore and repair and renew I rest in the hope that God’s grace is indeed ENOUGH!

#Write31Days

Your Grace is Enough
Matt Maher

Great is Your faithfulness oh God
You wrestle with the sinner’s restless heart
You lead us by still waters and to mercy
And nothing can keep us apart

So remember Your people
Remember Your children
Remember Your promise
Oh God

Chorus:
Your grace is enough
Your grace is enough
Your grace is enough for me

Great is Your love and justice, God of Jacob
You use the weak to lead the strong
You lead us in the song of Your salvation
And all Your people sing along

Leave a Reply

