(#31Days) Every Hour

Every Hour

 

I walked into the kitchen, looked at the counter and walked right back out. After a few minutes in the comfy green living room chair I pulled myself back up and went back in to face the music.

As I was standing at the sink I just kept thinking “sometimes it feels like I do the same thing over and over and over every single day”.

I need thee, O I need thee,
every hour I need thee.

It’s true. Meals need made every day. Dishes need done every day. Clothes need washed every day.

I need thee, O I need thee,
every hour I need thee.

Washing away I began to think about what a sacrifice it is to doing things repeatedly. My kids (8,6,3 and 1.5) don’t have a clue about the time it takes just to be their mom and keep everyone fed and dressed. It is one of the many reasons why motherhood can feel thankless in the early years (lucky for us they grow up and learn responsibility and begin to see the day to day with new eyes).

I need thee, O I need thee,
every hour I need thee.

Then I began to think about God and how He says he is ever present. Always with us. Now I’m the one being thankless.

I need thee, O I need thee,
every hour I need thee.

On the very practical side let’s just say thinking about being in my presence 24 hours a day, grace becomes a very real concept. I can be tired, demanding and just plain work. Yet God chooses us and chooses to be with us.

I need thee, O I need thee,
every hour I need thee.

But really, what I thought about most, was gratitude. Who am I that the God of the universe would make himself constantly available to me? Who am I that more than being available he listens and hears and responds? Who am I that grace and mercy and love have been promised to me  even in the most mundane of my human moments?

I need thee, O I need thee,
every hour I need thee.

Yet without it, without the Spirit of God alive and well, in  my life, I have nothing. These words could not ring more true for me today. And oh am I grateful.

#Write31Days

I Need Thee Every Hour
Annie S. Hawks, Robert Lowry

I need thee every hour,
most gracious Lord;
no tender voice like thine
can peace afford.

Refrain:
I need thee, O I need thee,
every hour I need thee.
O bless me now, my Savior;
I come to thee.

I need thee every hour;
stay thou near by;
temptations lose their power
when thou art nigh.

I need thee every hour,
in joy or pain;
come quickly and abide,
or life is vain.

I need thee every hour;
teach me thy will;
and thy rich promises
in me fulfill.

I need thee every hour,
Most Holy One;
O make me thine indeed,
thou Blessed Son!

Leave a Reply

