(#31Days) How Great Your Affections

Holding Hands

I was sitting in church rubbing my sons hair. It had been a rough morning. One where he woke up with crazy eyes and he hadn’t really recovered.

I realize just how beautiful You are
And how great Your affections are

A man from our congregation stood up to give the call to worship and began talking about faults. He didn’t even call them faults he came right out and said failures. He went on to talk about how failures make him feel and yet how redeemed he knows he is.

I realize just how beautiful You are
And how great Your affections are

I felt crushed. But not for me. I am well aware of my failures and also my redemption. My son is not.
My son is well aware of his failures, he is not yet fully aware of his redemption.

I realize just how beautiful You are
And how great Your affections are

Since we were in church I didn’t break down into tears, but I wanted to. He gets it my son. He knows all the facts. But his heart, his heart is still young and unsure.

I realize just how beautiful You are
And how great Your affections are

As I thought about these words I am hopeful. His young heart, his failures not final, all is not lost. As his mom I have the privilege to sit with him, pray for him, speak and live hope over him.

Some day I hope he understands these beautiful words fully…

#Write31Days

How He Loves
David Crowder

He is jealous for me, loves like a hurricane, I am a tree
Bending beneath the weight of His wind and mercy
When all of a sudden I am unaware of these afflictions
Eclipsed by glory and I realize just how beautiful You are
And how great Your affections are for me

And oh, how He loves us, oh
Oh, how He loves us, how He loves us all

He is jealous for me, loves like a hurricane, I am a tree
Bending beneath the weight of His wind and mercy
When all of a sudden I am unaware of these afflictions
Eclipsed by glory and I realize just how beautiful You are
And how great Your affections are for me

Oh, how He loves, yeah, He loves us
Oh, how He loves us, oh, how He loves us
Oh, how He loves

And we are His portion and He is our prize
Drawn to redemption by the grace in His eyes
If His grace is an ocean, we’re all sinking

And heaven meets earth like an unforeseen kiss
And my heart turns violently inside of my chest
I don’t have time to maintain these regrets
When I think about the way

Oh, how He loves us, oh
Oh, how He loves us, how He loves all
How He loves

Leave a Reply

