(#31Days) Confession

Confession

As I sat and listened to a beautiful, passionate lesson on forgiveness and the totality of forgiveness I kept thinking about confession.

Lord have mercy
Christ have mercy
Lord have mercy on me

To end up at forgiveness we had to come to a place of confession. A place we realized we were wrong and were ready to reconcile our wrongs.

Lord have mercy
Christ have mercy
Lord have mercy on me

Confession is HARD. It calls us to be humble in our words, open to the response of another and vulnerable in both our humanity and faith.

Lord have mercy
Christ have mercy
Lord have mercy on me

It was so fitting that as we ended our lesson on forgiveness we ended with communion. At the table. The place we are called to confess before we eat. To see reconciliation with one another and God before we truly commune together.

Lord have mercy
Christ have mercy
Lord have mercy on me

The question becomes if we believe we are forgiven and forgiveness is total and complete when we chose to walk with God, why confess? Specifically, why should we make confession to God, who has already forgiven us?

Are we unforgiven at some point? Is it just a sacred ritual we just keep doing? Did I not really mean it the first time?

Lord have mercy
Christ have mercy
Lord have mercy on me

Here’s where we have to see the before and after. The dueling nature of our simple human selves with our spiritual selves.

Before, when we were just human and had no spiritual identity we used confession to gain our spiritual identity. We repented and confessed. When we did that we took on the Spirit nature that God promised us.

Now we have two parts that need care. Our human self and our spiritual self. Care of our human self is relatively easy (showers, vitamins, the occasional Dr. appointment). Care of our spiritual self comes in the form of communing with our God. We read his words, we listen and pray, we see and experience creation as He created it.

After, as we tend to our spiritual self, this relationship will falter at some point. It will flail not because God messed up, but because we did. We then are called to confess. This confession is not one of gaining God’s forgiveness but of restoring our relationship with God.

Lord have mercy
Christ have mercy

Lord have mercy on me

When we confess in our right now, already forgiven, life we are recommitting ourselves humbly and fully to walk and do and be the person we were created to be in the Imago Dei. For we bear God’s image about us and God’s spirit in us.

Let us confess and be restored.

#Write31Days

Lord Have Mercy
By Michael W. Smith, Sarah McIntosh

Jesus, I’ve forgotten the words that you have spoken
Promises that burned within my heart have now grown dim
With a doubting heart I follow the paths of earthly wisdom
Forgive me for my unbelief
Renew the fire again

Lord have mercy
Christ have mercy
Lord have mercy on me

I have built an altar where I worship things of god
I have taken journeys that have drawn me far from you
Now I am returning to your mercies ever flowing
Pardon my transgressions
Help me love you again

[Chorus]

I have longed to know you and your tender mercies
Like a river of forgiveness ever flowing without end
I bow my heart before you in the goodness of your presence
Your grace forever shining
Like a beacon in the night

Leave a Reply

