(#31Days) Mystery

  
One of the fun things about having toddlers is the many, many questions they ask such as, “Mom, why do the birds sit in trees?” or “Why is the moon only sort of there?“. While there are certainly logical, scientific explainations for these things, my 3 year old sees the world as a mystery.

And there I find You in the mystery

As kids get bigger they ask harder, more mysterious questions. “Mom, why would someone CHOOSE to be mean when they could just be nice?” or “Mom, if Jesus is in my heart how is He is everyone else’s heart too?” Pyschology and theology can help explain parts but the whole may remain a mystery at this age.

And there I find You in the mystery

You would think that as we age the mysteries become easier to solve, yet I have mysterious questions of my own…Why do I choose wrong when I want to do what is right? Why does pain exist for those that don’t deserve it? What am I supposed to do with this one life I’ve been given?

And there I find You in the mystery

Part of this life we live is living with questions. When we look at all our questions as a heavy, unanswered burden to bear, we will be crushed. Some questions don’t have answers. Some questions have answers that we don’t fully understand. Some questions have answers that we don’t understand yet but will understand some day.

And there I find You in the mystery

Some things will remain a mystery. Regardless of why there are mysteries, mysteries are part of the beauty of faith.

Faith declares that God who is in and around us, who we don’t fully understand is still a God we fully trust. (Faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see. Hebrews 11:1) We get to live the mystery EVERY SINGLE DAY!

And there I find You in the mystery

When we choose to live the mystery all our questions find a firm foundation. We declare all the good and bad and ugly things we don’t understand to still be redeemable. We can look at the bruised, broken and buried souls around us and HOPE.

And there I find You in the mystery

It is in yielding to faith amidst the mystery where we find HOPE. We find GRACE. We find REDEMPTION.
#Write31Days


Oceans
Hillsong

You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown where feet may fail
And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep
My faith will stand

I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise my soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

Your grace abounds in deepest waters
Your sovereign hand
Will be my guide
Where feet may fail and fear surrounds me
You’ve never failed and You won’t start now

So I will call upon Your name
And keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
For I am Yours and You are mine

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior

I will call upon Your Name
Keep my eyes above the waves
When oceans rise
My soul will rest in Your embrace
I am Yours and You are mine

Leave a Reply

