(#31Days) Shame

Shame

Shame. It isn’t something we talk about or even want to talk about. And we often confuse shame and guilt.

I run into Your arms
Unashamed because of mercy

Brene Brown says it this way…

I believe that there is a profound difference between shame and guilt. I believe that guilt is adaptive and helpful – it’s holding something we’ve done or failed to do up against our values and feeling psychological discomfort.

I define shame as the intensely painful feeling or experience of believing that we are flawed and therefore unworthy of love and belonging – something we’ve experienced, done, or failed to do makes us unworthy of connection.

I don’t believe shame is helpful or productive. In fact, I think shame is much more likely to be the source of destructive, hurtful behavior than the solution or cure. I think the fear of disconnection can make us dangerous.

I run into Your arms
Unashamed because of mercy

If the opposite of feeling shame is feeling unashamed, what does it mean to be unashamed?

I run into Your arms
Unashamed because of mercy

In this particular season of motherhood it is really easy to feel shame. It almost works in reverse. A little bit of disconnection because your family is sick or dropping the ball just because sometimes there is so much to juggle.

Then you find yourself in that moment. The one where you are looking at yourself in the mirror and feeling worthless. Wondering if those that love you most really love you. Wanting to hide underneath the sheets until the pain just goes away.

I run into Your arms
Unashamed because of mercy

Yet God doesn’t see us that way. He waits patiently for us to run to him (even if it’s with a limp) because of mercy.

Compassion and grace cover us every single step of the way.

As I was driving alone and I heard this chorus it set me free somehow. This is me today…

I run into Your arms
Unashamed because of mercy

#Write31Days

Overwhelmed
By Michael David Weaver, Phil Wickham

I see the work of Your Hands
Galaxies spin in a Heavenly dance oh God
All that You are is so overwhelming

I hear the sound of Your Voice
All at once it’s a gentle and thundering noise oh God
All that You are is so overwhelming

I delight myself in You
Captivated by Your beauty
I’m overwhelmed, I’m overwhelmed by You

God, I run into Your arms
Unashamed because of mercy
I’m overwhelmed, I’m overwhelmed by You

I know the power of Your Cross
Forgiven and free forever You’ll be my God
And all that You’ve done is so overwhelming

I delight myself in You
In the Glory of Your Presence
I’m overwhelmed, I’m overwhelmed by You

And God I run into Your arms
Unashamed because of mercy
I’m overwhelmed, I’m overwhelmed by You

You are Beautiful, You are Beautiful
Oh God, there is no one more Beautiful
You are Beautiful, God you are the most Beautiful

You are Wonderful, You are Wonderful
Oh God, there is no one more Wonderful
You are Wonderful, God You are the most Wonderful

You are Glorious, You are Glorious
Oh God, there is no one more Glorious
You are Glorious, God you are the most Glorious

I delight myself in You
In the Glory of Your Presence
I’m overwhelmed, I’m overwhelmed by You

And God I run into Your arms
Unashamed because of mercy
I’m overwhelmed, I’m overwhelmed by You
I’m overwhelmed, I’m overwhelmed by You
There is no one more Beautiful
You are the most Beautiful

Leave a Reply

