(#31Days) Foundational

 

Saturday’s tend to be lazy days. They aren’t the days for lots of commitments are big decisions. I try and let me kids be kids and let myself rest more than usual.

Not today though. Today I picked up my devotional and read it first thing this morning. I am recommitting to that again.

I say again because for some reason I got out of the habit. I still attend a weekly study and Sunday morning service so its not like I don’t ever open up a Bible or consistently pray. There’s just something about those first moments of a day, the ones that set the tone for the rest of the day.

When I abandon those moments, this small habit, something is lost.

How firm a foundation, ye Saints of the Lord,
Is laid for your faith in his excellent word!

Why did I abandon this habit? If it really is the practice that shapes my whole day why give it up? I was still up every day (I have kids, waking is not optional!) and I was still reading things, they just weren’t words that give life.

Selfish words, that’s where I was spending my few quiet moments. Opening up Facebook or a Blog or finishing the book I started that week. None of these things inherently bad, but none foundational to my humanity either.

How firm a foundation, ye Saints of the Lord,
Is laid for your faith in his excellent word!

When the week goes on and I can’t put my finger on what is “off” it dawned on me, I haven’t been starting my day as I used to.

Now before you think I’m ten commentaries deep each morning before my kids get up, think again. I’m not a morning person and I don’t think that well before 10am. When I say I am recommitting to a morning quiet time I am opening up my email to read With God, reading the scripture and saying a prayer for my day.

But, even then, there is something defining about that. Being reminded in my first moments who my life really belongs to and what my day is really about.

It helps me be more patient with my kids, more aware of what needs done today and ultimately that I am loved and worthy and called to give that same gift to others.

How firm a foundation, ye Saints of the Lord,
Is laid for your faith in his excellent word!

Maybe it isn’t appealing or sounds to “holier than thou” but maybe give it a try. (Seriously, for $1.99/month and 10 minutes of your time you won’t find a better devotional out there!)

#Write31Days

How Firm a Foundation
Robert Keen

How firm a foundation, ye Saints of the Lord,
Is laid for your faith in his excellent word!
What more can he say than to you he hath said,
Who unto the Savior for refuge have fled?

In ev’ry condition — in sickness, in health
In poverty’s vale or abounding in wealth,
At home or abroad, on the land or the sea–
As thy days may demand, so thy succor shall be.

Fear not, I am with thee; oh, be not dismayed,
For I am they God and will still give thee aid.
I’ll strengthen thee, help thee, and cause thee to stand,
Upheld by my righteous, omnipotent hand.

When through the deep waters I call thee to go,
The rivers of sorrow shall not thee o’erflow,
For I will be with thee, thy troubles to bless,
And sanctify to thee they deepest distress.

When through fiery trials they pathway shall lie,
My grace, all sufficient, shall be they supply.
The flame shall not hurt thee; I only design
Thy dross to consume and they gold to refine.

E’en down to old age, all my people shall prove
My Sov’reign, eternal, unchangeable love;
And then, when gray hair shall their temples adorn,
Like lambs shall they still in my bosom be borne.

Thou soul that on Jesus hath leaned for repose
I will not, I cannot, desert to his foes;
That soul, though all hell should endeavor to shake,
I’ll never, no never, no never forsake!

Leave a Reply

