(#31Days) The Orphan

  

My friend recently told me that a survey said the happiest parents are “Moms with 4 or more kids”. (I should be ecstatic!)

She went on to tell me that in this coversation she heard this from they wondered out loud why the survey didn’t ask adoptive parents about their happiness quotient. She responded with “because I know what it would be and it might not be that happy somedays.”

Who makes the orphan a son and daughter

As I pondered this I looked around and realized how many of my dear friends are adoptive parents, not only that but a dear family is currently fostering children too.

Today I write for them.

What does it mean to be made a part of a family? What does it mean to be given unconditional love and grace? What does it mean to be the tower of hope among the brokenness of the world?

It means sacrifice. The first step has always been an open door. If you don’t think that’s a sacrifice take a walk. Look around and see how many people have their front doors open. I can guarantee it isn’t many.

Even if you aren’t fostering or adopting are you willing to make the sacrifice to open your front door? To invite someone or a few someones in? Maybe try it for the weekend and see what happens.

Who makes the orphan a son and daughter

It also means grace. When a child is in need of care there are so many people and systems that need grace: social services, birth parents, siblings, judges and the list goes on. This ability to look at the broken and still see hope, still show love, that takes Jesus.

Can you have a little more grace with someone today? Are you willing to look at the entirety of the brokenness around you and have the hope, be the hope?

Who makes the orphan a son and daughter

It also means support. Those committed to loving the kids and families that are hurting and broken need support. Many of them are giving all they have every day, and they are happy to do so. Yet, it is hard to give when you become empty.

What can you do for them? Take a meal? Watch siblings? Send a note of encouragement?

Who makes the orphan a son and daughter

As I heard this very up beat, very lovely song about grace I couldn’t help but think of my many friends who have hope and are the hope in the broken. May these words wash over them and you, fill our hearts to overflowing and let us be a blessing to all.

#Write31Days

This Is Amazing Grace
Phil Wickham

Who breaks the power of sin and darkness
Whose love is might and so much stronger
The King of Glory, the King above all kings

Who shakes the whole earth with holy thunder
And leaves us breathless in awe and wonder
The King of Glory, the King above all kings

This is amazing grace
This is unfailing love
That You would take my place
That You would bear my cross
You lay down Your life
That I would be set free
Oh, Jesus, I sing for
All that You’ve done for me

Who brings our chaos back into order
Who makes the orphan a son and daughter
The King of Glory, the King of Glory

Who rules the nations with truth and justice
Shines like the sun in all of its brilliance
The King of Glory, the King above all kings

Leave a Reply

