(#31Days) On Waiting

What are you waiting for today?

Me? I’m waiting for news on a house, my husbands new work schedule, a big family change and a potential work opportunity.

Waiting. I’m going about my day to day tasks but all the “if” questions swarm around in my head all day while I do them.

Mold me and make me after Thy will,
While I am waiting, yielded and still.

I am waiting. I am partially yielded and I am not at all still.

In my waiting what is the state of my heart, body and soul? If I am really honest I am all action and no heart or soul.

My unwillingness to be yielded and still isn’t entirely intentional. I have lost focus. The first part of that stanza declares “Mold me and make me after Thy will”.

When my focus is on eternity, on loving unconditionally exactly where I find myself right now, on the things in this life that really matter, the hearts and souls and lives of those around me, being yielded and still comes naturally.

Yet, when I lose my focus and become selfish, I also stop relying on hope and begin relying on myself. Self reliance for any span of time is a bad idea. I am limited, finite, incomplete. 
And they I hear…

Mold me and make me after Thy will,
While I am waiting, yielded and still.

Called out of self reliance and into God-reliance the state of my heart and soul is restored. I find that the waiting continues but my posture has changed.

Sitting and still. Waiting without selfish expectation. Knowing that whatever happens here, in the quiet, won’t just change my day to day life but will change my soul.

#Write31Days

Have Thine Own Way, Lord
Adelaide A. Pollard

Have Thine own way, Lord! Have Thine own way!
Thou art the Potter, I am the clay.
Mold me and make me after Thy will,
While I am waiting, yielded and still.

Have Thine own way, Lord! Have Thine own way!
Search me and try me, Master, today!
Whiter than snow, Lord, wash me just now,
As in Thy presence humbly I bow.

Have Thine own way, Lord! Have Thine own way!
Wounded and weary, help me, I pray!
Power, all power, surely is Thine!
Touch me and heal me, Savior divine.

Have Thine own way, Lord! Have Thine own way!
Hold o’er my being absolute sway!
Fill with Thy Spirit till all shall see
Christ only, always, living in me.

Leave a Reply

