(#31Days) My One Defense

  
Do you ever have days where it feels like you made all the wrong choices? 
You yelled at your kids and you didn’t show up for a friend who needed you and you should have unplugged and gone to bed but instead stayed up too late.

When all is said and done it is hard to roll into bed and feel any worth. My gut says moms probably feel this a lot but I think it can happen to anyone.

My one defense, my righteousness

After such low days that we might call a “failure” or a “waste” how do we come back? How do we recover? There is life left to be lived, we can’t just wallow forever!

My one defense, my righteousness

All fall some friends and I have been studying Romans together. I’ve read Romans many times during my life but this may be the first time I have ever really understood Righteousness.

Without being overwhelming in the details we decided a simple definition of righteousness was “A right stainding with God, because of God.”

Righteousness is my ability to reclaim my worth and start fresh. It is the seat of grace and mercy and compassion. It is the greatest defense we have against sin, failure and worthlessness.

The amazing thing about it is that my one defense is not something I created or gained or earned. It’s not even self defense. It is quite literally Jesus’ defense of me before God because he wanted to. My sole role is to respond with acceptance. My ability to stand right in spite of myself is a gift given to me.

Yes, it does seem complicated and it is when you get into the nitty gritty. BUT, it is also the most freeing thing in life.

How do I wake up and start new? I rest here; my one defense, my righteousness. And I am so grateful that I can.

#Write31Days

Lord I Need You
Matt Maher


Lord I come, I confess
Bowing here I find my rest
Without You I fall apart
You’re the One that guides my heart

Lord, I need You, oh, I need You
Every hour I need You
My one defense, my righteousness
Oh God, how I need You

Where sin runs deep Your grace is more
Where grace is found is where You are
And where You are, Lord, I am free
Holiness is Christ in me

Teach my song to rise to You
When temptation comes my way
And when I cannot stand I’ll fall on You
Jesus, you’re my hope and stay

Leave a Reply

