(#31Days) To Do

  

The to do list. We all have one. Even my most ADD friends have a list of things they would like to do!

Having a “to do” list is what helps me a lot of times. Many times I am the only adult juggling 4 kids and I have to think ahead about how we all are fed and clothed just to get through the day, enter the to do list.

Some days though, the to do list feels more like an unkind master and less like a helpful guide. I feel controlled and weighed down by what needs to be done. Trapped.

Through you my souls says I am free

What does your to do list say to you? Does it shout freedom or does it scream confinement? Does it reflect what you believe or what the world believes?

I’ve been wrestling with this a lot. This month as I consider the state of my soul and the many hard things we hear and say, I am convicted that my to do list is not freedom but execution. It may be slowly shaping my soul in ways I was entirely unaware of.

If my soul was truly reflecting the freedom I declare to know what would I do differently? Who would I approach that currently seems unaproachable? What risk would I take that seems impossible? What would my to do list look like?

Sure we all have things we need to take care of, our humanity requires it of us, but when our to do list begins to define who we are, the state of our souls, something has been lost.

I’m not one to get too celebratory when I’m singing but maybe if I believed the depth and breadth of the words coming out of my mouth, if they were changing the very state of my soul, perhaps the whole of me would change?

#Write31Days

I Am Free
Newsboys

Through You the blind will see
Through You the mute will sing
Through You the dead will rise
Through You all hearts will praise
Through You the darkness flees
Through You my heart screams I am free, I am free

Chorus
I am free to run (echo)
I am free to dance (echo)
I am free to live for You (echo)
I am free (echo), I am free (echo)

Through you the kingdom comes
Through you the battle’s won
Through you I’m not afraid
Through you the price was paid
Through you there’s victory
Through you my souls says I am free

Categories Joy

Leave a Reply

