(#31Days) Rest

  

As I realized this post would come at the end of a week I began thinkng about the concept of rest.

I often look forward to our weekend because it is a time that I really advocate for rest for our family. It isn’t always possible but we try to make it a time of low commitmtnet and high availability to be hospitable or to gather with people last minute.

It is rest that restores us body, mind, soul and strength to keep going.

It dawned on me that rest isn’t something we sing about often. (Aside: Are you a musician writing in the Christian genre, write a song about rest and sabbath and I can almost gurantee it would be a hit…but I digress.)

For a people who would say that “sabbath” is a part of our calling and identity we sure don’t reflect that in our music. We even profess to follow a commandment about rest and yet we can’t seem to articulate in any way what rest really even is as a spiritual dicsipline. (Don’t believe me? Google “christian songs about rest” “contemporary choruses about rest” “hymns about sabbath” you’ll see what I mean!)

O Jesus, Lord and Savior,
I give myself to Thee,
For Thou, in Thy [redemption],
Didst give Thyself for me;

Isn’t the reason we struggle with rest this idea? When we rest we are completely giving ourselves over. We are surrendering.

Rest is a surrender of control. It is a surrender of busy. It is a surrender of self.

Rest is a surrender to quiet. A surrender to listen. A surrender to restoration.

Rest is hard but we are a sabbath people! It is a gift of grace that we are not only given the suggetions but we are commanded to rest.

We rest as we gather together on our holy days. We rest as we share around the table. We rest when we quietly meditate in our churches and homes and holy places only to loudly declare together “AMEN”.

Friends, be a sabbath people. Give yourself over to rest. Don’t just “make time” for it but abide there.

It is in rest that we find restoration and in restoration we meet Jesus.

#Write31Days


Living For Jesus
Thomas Obediah Chisholm

Living for Jesus a life that is true,
Striving to please Him in all that I do;
Yielding allegiance, glad-hearted and free,
This is the pathway of blessing for me.

O Jesus, Lord and Savior,
I give myself to Thee,
For Thou, in Thy [redemption],*
Didst give Thyself for me;
I own no other Master,
My heart shall be Thy throne,
My life I give, henceforth to live,
O Christ, for Thee alone.

Living for Jesus who died in my place,
Bearing on Calv’ry my sin and disgrace;
Such love constrains me to answer His call,
Follow His leading and give Him my all.

Living for Jesus wherever I am,
Doing each duty in His holy name;
Willing to suffer affliction and loss,
Deeming each trial a part of my cross.

Living for Jesus through earth’s little while,
My dearest treasure, the light of His smile;
Seeking the lost ones He died to redeem,
Bringing the weary to find rest in Him.

*Or atonement

One thought on “(#31Days) Rest

  1. Check out “Still, My Soul Be Still” by Keith and Kristyn Getty. “Lord of Peace renew a steadfast spirit within me to rest in You alone…”

Leave a Reply

