(#31Days) My Best Thought

  

Being a parent can be rough. Being human can be rough. Parenting another human being, well you get the idea.

Thou be my best thought, By day or by night
Waking or sleeping, Thy presence my light.

There is a part of me that I don’t quite understand. When I’m around adult human beings I have very little problem with my thoughts, feelings or words. Self control and being slow to speak and quick to listen come very naturally.

Around the 4 small non-adult humans in my house, this is not the case, I’m a live wire.

My husband will testify to my generally good nature, my friends will tell you I try hard to be kind and thoughtful and any employers would be shocked to see me when I “lose it” with my kids.

Perhaps it is that I am more guarded with adults. I know they have the ability to reason and also the ability to see through any junk I might try and pull. Maybe my more introverted self comes out around other adults and I don’t say as much so I don’t have to sift through my thoughts so much.

Does this mean I am both the best and worst version of myself around my kids? The best part being that I am totally uninhibitied, the worst part being that I don’t filter my thoughts and actions?

This is a hard pill to swallow on the parenting path, I’m not exactly thrilled to be telling you these things.

Yet,

Thou be my best thought, By day or by night
Waking or sleeping, Thy presence my light.

It seems that with humans of all varieties, adults and kids, I could use a heart check.

If my vision is Jesus and he is also my best thought, my best actions should follow. If my best actions don’t follow in any circumstance perhaps my vision needs restored.

It would be logical then to think that this hymn applies to me more than I ever thought.

This hymn isn’t one of pride declaring that indeed, God is at the forefront all the time for this author. No, this is a hymn of humility. Of begging, of admission. A hymn that declares please, Lord Jesus, be my vision.

Changing our vision changes everything.

Thou be my best thought, By day or by night
Waking or sleeping, Thy presence my light.

That phrase “thy presence my light” could have a two-fold interpretation, and it brings me to my knees.

First, the vision of Salvation and Grace and Redemption lights our way. It is what gives us hope. It is what carries us from day to day. It is what ushers us into eternity.

Second, when the vision is truly a part of who we are, we become the light. “Thy presence my light” is a declaration that the Joy and Love and Celebration coming from my being is not mine but a reflection of the Light himslef. It is the small bit of grace I am charged with giving to the world.

Parenting is still hard and yet, I sing with the author these words. May they usher in a more humble, more glorious version of Jesus to my chidlren.

#Write31Days

Be Thou My Vision
Dallan Forgaill

Be Thou my Vision, O Lord of my heart;
Naught be all else to me, save that Thou art;
Thou be my best thought, by day or by night
Waking or sleeping, Thy presence my light.

Be Thou my Wisdom, and Thou my true Word;
I ever with Thee and Thou with me, Lord;
Thou my great Father, I Thy true son;
Thou in me dwelling, and I with Thee one.

Be Thou my battle Shield, Sword for the fight;
Be Thou my Dignity, Thou my Delight;
Thou my soul’s Shelter, Thou my high Tow’r:
Raise Thou me heav’nward, O Pow’r of my pow’r.

Riches I heed not, nor man’s empty praise,
Thou mine Inheritance, now and always:
Thou and Thou only, first in my heart,
High King of Heaven, my Treasure Thou art.


High King of Heaven, my victory won,
May I reach Heaven’s joys, O bright Heav’n’s Sun!
Heart of my own heart, whate’er befall,
Still be my Vision, O Ruler of all.

Leave a Reply

