(#31Days) Just Say So

  
Sometimes things from childhood pop into my head and I’m not sure exactly why or how but there they are.

Let the redeemed of the Lord say so
Let the redeemed of the Lord say so
Let the redeemed of the Lord say so

I’m redeemed
I’m redeemed

Praise the Lord

I get warm fuzzies when this song comes to mind. It was always sung as a gospel hymn when I was a kid. A lot of energy and life and excitment behind this chorus.

I had no idea what it meant. That is the entire song. It is repeated a few times and that’s it. Say so? Say “so”? Say “so what”?

The last couple months I’ve been studying Romans with some friends. We’ve talked a whole lot about righteousness and somewhere in that discussion we’ve talked about being redeemed and atoned and justified and loved. And I encountered this…

Psalm 107:2-3


Let the redeemed of the
Lord tell their story —
those he redeemed from
the hand of the foe,
those he gathered from
the lands,
frome east and west,
from north and south.

My story. Tell my story. Just say it. Just say so.

That’s harder than it sounds. As a person that is redeemed it means at some point I have needed redemption. That means I have dirt. There is ugly in my history. There are parts of me I don’t want to get up all happy about and go share.

Yet, what is it to be redeemed? To be both forgiven and accepted. To be loved unconditionally regardless of my ugly. To know that Someone loved me enough to step into my beautiful mess and make me brand new. That’s a story worth telling.

The ugly of our redemption story is what makes us human. The grace of our redemption story makes us redeemed. We can’t have one without the other.

So yes, let the redeemed of the Lord say so. Without fear, guilt or shame. Grace is a gift worth sharing.

#Write31Days

Let the Redeemed
Don Moen

Let the redeemed of the Lord say so
Let the redeemed of the Lord say so
Let the redeemed of the Lord say so

I’m redeemed
I’m redeemed

Praise the Lord

Let the redeemed of the Lord say so
Let the redeemed of the Lord say so
Let the redeemed of the Lord say so

I’m redeemed
I’m redeemed

Praise the Lord

Let the redeemed of the Lord say so
Let the redeemed of the Lord say so
Let the redeemed of the Lord say so

I’m redeemed
I’m redeemed

Praise the Lord

Let the redeemed of the Lord say so
Let the redeemed of the Lord say so
Let the redeemed of the Lord say so

I’m redeemed
I’m redeemed

Praise the Lord

Leave a Reply

