(#31Days) Where?

*This is largely satirical. I sat down to write this after quite a long day and didn’t have a whole lot left. Instead of deleting it I thought I’d pass it along anyway! Back with some real adult thoughts tomorrow!

  

Kids songs about God and theology and the Bible are just funny. The heart behind them is so good. We want our kids to see and understand their part in the God story at a level they can understand. However, as an adult singing these songs and listening to my kids sing them, I just have to giggle sometimes.

Like today.

I’ve got the Joy, Joy, Joy, Joy
Down in my heart
Where?

I really do want my kids to have joy. The thing is I would like it to be some place other than the deep depths of their heart.

Laughing. Joking. Being Kind. Showing Gratitude. I want joy to be on their lips, in their actions and a defining characteristic of who they are.

Knowing about joy and having it in their heart is great but let’s not keep it there! Let the joy out kids! Let.it.out!

Have the joy but don’t hide it in your heart. Live it out! Shout it from the mountain tops. Let it reign in your life and define who you are.

And don’t lose it! Don’t ask where you left it. Once you have the Joy, the everlasting Joy, hold on to it tightly.

Kids, have the joy. Rejoice always. Party on. There is grace and righteousness and eternal life to celebrate, don’t stop now!

#Write31Days

Down In My Heart

I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy down in my heart.
Where? Down in my heart!
Where? Down in my heart!
I’ve got the joy, joy, joy, joy down in my heart,
down in my heart
down in my heart to stay.

And if the Devil doesn’t like it he can sit on a tack.
OUCH
Sit on a tack.
OUCH
Sit on a tack.
And if the Devil doesn’t like it he can sit on a tack
Sit on a tack today.

I’ve got the peace that passes understanding,
Down in my heart,
Where? Down in my heart!
Where? Down in my heart!
I’ve got the peace that passes understanding,
down in my heart
down in my heart to stay.

I’ve the got love of Jesus, love of Jesus
Down in my heart,
Where? Down in my heart!
Where? Down in my heart!
I’ve the got love of Jesus, love of Jesus
down in my heart,
down in my heart to stay.

I’ve got the wonderful love of my precious redeemer way down in the depths of my heart,
Where? Down in the depths of my heart,
Where? Down in the depths of my heart.
I’ve got the wonderful love of my precious redeemer way down in the depths of my heart;
down in the depths of my heart to stay!

Categories Joy

Leave a Reply

