(#31Days) When the Sun’s Shining Down

sun

In life there are many kinds of people. We tend to categorize people by personality (introvert or extrovert) or relationship status (single or dating or married) or sometimes by attitude (optimist or pessimist).

I’m a big believer that who we are is unique to us, that unique has been the plan and intention for people since creation. If you took all the labels in the world from the Meyers-Briggs to the Enneagram and everything in between, I don’t think any two humans would be exactly alike.

The thing is, that sometimes, knowing a little bit about who we are helps shape what we do, the decisions we make and the life we lead.

Blessed be Your name
When the sun’s shining down on me
When the world’s ‘all as it should be’
Blessed be Your name


This seems like a “well duh” to some of you reading this. (Can we be friends, I need more optimism in my life?) And to others, more like me, you probably just groaned a small bit.

For some of us all the light and brightness is a little blinding. These words about blessings on the good days are hard words for some of us, myself included.

It is in the hard days and weeks and months that I find myself curled up and drawing near to the precious words of Scripture. The valley’s of life tend to open my listening ears as I bend low begging to hear a movement of God.

I resonate deeply with the hymns of old because they speak to some of those long days of life. I struggle with the choruses of our time as I struggle to see the beauty in the praise of all the good stuff all the time.

This is me. In listening closely to the words around me I have discovered I have yet another short fall. I can’t quite put my finger on the words, some would say my faith is shallow, I prefer to thing my faith is partially blind. There is a part of my faith I have yet to uncover, learn about, understand and practice fully.

There is greatness in the God I love and all that surrounds me because of him. I acknowledge that often. However, I acknowledge it much more frequently in pain than I do in peace.

This week I sit with these words and the words of the many Psalms and I practice that side of my faith that needs exercised a bit more. The side that sees the good and the great and glorifies the God of it all, right here, right now.

#Write31Days

Blessed Be Your Name
By: Matt Redman

Blessed Be Your Name
In the land that is plentiful
Where Your streams of abundance flow
Blessed be Your name

Blessed Be Your name
When I’m found in the desert place
Though I walk through the wilderness
Blessed Be Your name

Every blessing You pour out
I’ll turn back to praise
When the darkness closes in, Lord
Still I will say

Blessed be the name of the Lord
Blessed be Your name
Blessed be the name of the Lord
Blessed be Your glorious name

Blessed be Your name
When the sun’s shining down on me
When the world’s ‘all as it should be’
Blessed be Your name

Blessed be Your name
On the road marked with suffering
Though there’s pain in the offering
Blessed be Your name

Every blessing You pour out
I’ll turn back to praise
When the darkness closes in, Lord
Still I will say

Blessed be the name of the Lord
Blessed be Your name
Blessed be the name of the Lord
Blessed be Your glorious name

Blessed be the name of the Lord
Blessed be Your name
Blessed be the name of the Lord
Blessed be Your glorious name

You give and take away
You give and take away
My heart will choose to say
Lord, blessed be Your name

Leave a comment