(#31Days) It Overwhelms and Satisfies

love-heart-hand-romantic-large

She’s about to drive my other kids crazy. 9:27am on a Sunday morning and she’s flailing her arms about making “motions” and singing at the top of her little 3year old voice:

His love never fails
Never gives up
Never runs out on me

I hear my 8year old groan and I can see my 6year old glaring in the rear view mirror.

The thing is, as sweet as it is that our daughter has retained this lovely song from VBS, these are the only words she remembers. So, she sings them on repeat over and over and over. It really is a bit like a broken record.

I half sympathize with the groans and half grin out of her sheer cuteness, I also wonder what I have retained? 

Do I hear the same things on repeat? And then, even in their truth and beauty, do I begin to groan and ignore them? Do I even wish them away sometimes just so I don’t have to hear it anymore?

Like the words of the first verse of this chorus…

Higher than the mountains that I face
Stronger than the power of the grave
Constant in the trial and the change
One thing remains

Higher? Stronger? Constant? These are not the words or actions defining my day to day living. (Low, tired and unpredictable come to mind however…)

Or what about this line…

It (Love) overwhelms and satisfies my soul

Not so much. My kids and their lives overwhelm my soul, all that has to be done before we move or the weight of heavy hearts around me – that overwhelms my soul, but love?

Here’s the thing, there can be too much of a good thing, but can there ever be too much of a love that never fails and never gives up?

I think not.

So, as much as it is annoying the other kids, I’m going to let the 3 year old keep singing because sometimes we really do need to hear something 100 times before we really hear it for the first time.

#Write31Days

 

One Thing Remains (Your Love Never Fails)

Verse 1

Higher than the mountains that I face
Stronger than the power of the grave
Constant in the trial and the change
One thing remains
One thing remains

Chorus 1

Your love never fails
It never gives up
Never runs out on me
Your love Your love Your love Your love

Verse 2

On and on and on and on it goes
It overwhelms and satisfies my soul
And I never ever have to be afraid
One thing remains
One thing remains

Chorus 2

Your love never fails
It never gives up
Never runs out on me
Your love Your perfect love oh Lord

(BRIDGE 1)

In death in life I’m confident and
Cover’d by the power of Your great love
My debt is paid there’s nothing that
Can separate my heart from Your great love

Chorus 3

Your love never fails
It never gives up
Never runs out on me

CCLI Song # 5508444

Brian Johnson | Christa Black | Jeremy Riddle

Leave a Reply

