What We Talk About…Support.

“What we talk about when we talk about _________”  is our series for June. Words and language have meaning and provide great insight into who we are. What is revealed when we reflect on the words we say? Check out the whole series HERE.

What We Talk About When We Talk About Support.

Support

“I’ll take care of it.” I’ve probably said that to my husband and kids at least a thousand times. It is what I do as a mom. I take care of stuff (dirty clothes, spilled milk, the checkbook…regular mom stuff). It is one way that I show support to my family.

As I sit across from a friend over coffee I hear myself say, “I totally support you.” This is different. This moment, this thought.

It occurs to me as I drive home supporting someone and being supportive are not the same thing. Just like caring for someone and taking care of someone are not the same thing.

When I talk about supporting my family and caring for my family I am most often talking about the million and one things that I do. From carpool to camp registration and baseball to ballet. In this season of my life supporting my family is all about the sweat equity from hour to hour and day to day.

Yet, when I really think about needing support and giving support, I think about compassion and care.

I recently saw a quote that said “The ministry of presence is so powerful – we hear, we have listened, we are present and we’re not turning away. “

When I need support I need presence. I need my husband to physically stand by me. I need my best friend to listen to me. I need the steadfast arms of the Body to hold me up.

When I offer support I am offering the ministry of presence. I am offering to listen with my ears, to hear with my heart, to do with my hands and to keep at it until you don’t need me anymore.

In another era support was defined as the work of the weak, the forgotten, the unwanted. In this era, we are learning the hard way that support is not the work of the weak , forgotten or unwanted, it never has been.

No, support is the burden we carry for one another. Each and every person, Image Bearer by design, both needs support and is support.

What do we talk about when we talk about support? Presence. We talk about presence.

Leave a Reply

