Start at GO!

by jayneandd
by jayneandd

The day began with my two year old falling out of his crib.

That should have been my first clue that it was going to be one of those days.

To do list as long as my arm, physical energy lagging, and as far as my kids were concerned I should have been wearing a black and white shirt and been equipped with a whistle.

After trying to do our Bible story at the breakfast table (and failing miserably as one child cried over spilled cereal and the other over the wrong kind of yogurt), I banished my boys upstairs to their play room and cowered on the couch with my devotional and Bible.

I got halfway through one page when I heard my boys fighting.  And I was angry.  Angry that my few minutes I was desperately trying to grab whatever peace I could maybe rustle up had been interrupted.  Angry that my children couldn’t seem to get along for longer than 5 minutes.

And in that moment, I didn’t feel like worshiping.  I didn’t feel like thanking God for my precious children.  I didn’t feel like going back to my devotions after breaking up yet another argument.

But I did it anyway.  I ended up with a few minutes of peace.  They were my only ones most of the day, but it was worth it to not let my emotions rule the moment.

Worship cannot be dependent on how I feel.  I’m going to be blunt and honest when I say that if I only decided to worship when I felt like it, I’m truly not sure how often I would sincerely spend time in worship.  Emotions are fleeting.  And they are deeply rooted in our sinful humanity rather than the spiritual.  Please don’t hear me say that emotions are bad.  Only that they can often cause us to react in a way that is counter to the Holy Spirit.

I know you might not feel like doing anything that resembles worship today, whether working with all your heart at your job, respecting and loving your spouse, playing another round of Hi-Ho Cherry-O with your child, or spending some quiet time with Jesus.

Do it anyway.

Because you just might find your heart and your attitude will change along the way.

~Amanda

Leave a Reply

