Small Wonders: Numbers

IMG_0280

It was a rough day, really rough. My son had lost it.

He eventually came around and when I was tucking him into bed I asked him: On a scale of 1-10, 1 being HORRIBLE and 10 being PERFECT, how was today?

“Can I say 4? Maybe a 3?” I’m struck at how observant he is about himself in these moments.

And what is a good day do you think, I ask? “An 8, or a 9.” (We decided no one is ever 100% perfect so 10 wasn’t an option!)

In that moment I began to think about all the ways we use numbers.

We use them to compare and contrast, just like we did this night. It was visible, simple, realistic.

We use numbers to rank, grade, weigh, measure. On one end of the scale is nothing and on the other there is more than enough.

And then this…”Teach us to number our days that we may gain a heart of wisdom.” (Psalm 90:12)

Why am I numbering things? Am I numbering them so that I can compare myself to others? Am I numbering things so that I feel good about what I have? Am I numbering things and feeling less than?

Or am I numbering my days? Am I seeking wisdom? Counting what really matters, souls? Numbering the good things, the gifts?

As I wrap up my chat with my son I reminded him, even when our days are only a 4 and we are discouraged and we have to ask for a lot of forgiveness, tomorrow doesn’t have to be a 4.

What are you counting today?



Linking today with Field of Wildflowers #SmallWonders

4 thoughts on “Small Wonders: Numbers

  1. A special moment with your child makes the day end on a sweet note whatever the number may have been for the rest of the day.
    Visiting from Small Wonders and this moment seems to have been one!
    Caring through Christ, ~ linda

  2. I think that too often I use numbers to either count up or count down. I forget to use them to grab every ounce of today. Thank you for these thoughts, and for linking at Small Wonders.

Leave a Reply

