Watch your tone?!?

I couldn’t hear it one more time. That whiny 5.5 year old voice coming from my dear daughter was about to push me over the edge.

I heard my own recorded voice, I couldn’t handle it. The valley girl uncertainty was not the voice in my head that I imagined every day.

It pierced my ears and my heart, that frustrated growl turned to scream that happens when my son gets overwhelmed.

It’s been a long weekend, to say the least. As I sit on the couch trying to find my center, prepare my heart for the week ahead, I keep thinking about what I heard.

Tone. Tone matters.

It’s a very small thing.

There are 88 keys on a piano and they each have their own tone, played well they create unimaginable melodies and harmonies.

Humans are said to each have a unique voice – that means there are 7 billion tones of voice in the world!

2015/01/img_0264.jpg

I heard my 3 year old sing “Let It Go” as she collected her baby dolls for a nap. Her pitch as she dramatically sang the chorus was endearing.

I heard my son read our nightly fairytale out loud to us. His inquisitive tone surrounding the villain was magical.

I heard myself speak prayers of grace and confession and forgiveness over my daughter and I heard hope.

Tone. It’s a small wonder of our every heard word and vocalized thought, but it really can change our whole life.

“A gentle tongue is a tree of life…” Proverbs 15:4

Speak Life.

Linking up with Small Wonders: A Field of Wildflowers

6 thoughts on “Watch your tone?!?

  1. Yes, tone is SO important, just as important as the words themselves at times. I think we’d all be shocked if we could hear recordings of ourselves and our tones. 😦 I’m thankful for grace to start a new day and do better!

    • Yes! I always thought of new mercies having to do with all the actionable places I failed. More and more as I grow and change I see the grace of new mercies as forgiveness and a second chance for all those heart matters grayed out by my humanity. Thanks for stopping by 🙂 praying grace over your day!

  2. Oh, this is lovely – so much grace here. I know there are languages (Japanese) where simple tone changes the meaning of things entirely. I always check the tone of my kids when they apologize to each other and, yes, it’s so hard to hear our own hard words, our own hard tones echoed in the voices of our children. But that simply invites us to the softer tones of confession and change. Thanks for linking up with #Small Wonder. 🙂

    • “The softer tones of confession” yes, totally this! I’m pretty sure I’ve never fallen on my face for harsh confession. So beautiful. Thanks for reading and hosting #SmallWonders

Leave a Reply

