Help a Girl Out. Celebrate.

drinking-glass

It’s November! It’s also my birthday month. I know women shouldn’t reveal their age but I’ll be 34. Here’s the thing, I’m not a big birthday celebrator. So instead of being stressed out and trying to come up with gift ideas, I have another plan.

I’m asking for water.

More specifically clean water for kids across the world that don’t even have access to it.

You want me to do what?

Every day, 1,400 kids under the age of 5 die from water-related illnesses. 

1 in 9 people around the world don’t have access to clean, safe drinking water.

 As part of a month of being thankful and the celebration of my 34th Birthday, I’m asking you to consider your financial position in the world. Full Disclosure: Worldwide, I am in the top 0.24% when it comes to our personal wealth. (Check out the Global Rich List to find your own ranking.)

Help a girl out! If everyone who reads this blog gave $2 (the cost of a single bottle of water from a convenience store) We could exceed my goal of a $340 donation to Charity: Water.

I Don’t Donate to Charity…Usually

For years I have struggled with the idea of giving financially. I really want to but I always have second thoughts. We have student loans we are trying to pay down, we would like to buy a home some day, we have kids we would like to provide a few “extras” for.

Financially giving beyond our tithe has been a very slow process for me.

But, grace and maturity has set it. This has been the year for my husband and I. The year where we have been really honest about our wants and our needs. The year my husband not only said “we should give more” but checked in and made sure we were doing it.

Giving to charity and asking others to join me, this is way outside my comfort zone.

Yet Christine Caine reminds me that “we are never outside our comfort zone if we are walking in the presence of the Great Comforter.”

So I’m asking, point blank, help a girl out. Join me on my journey to give more, fear less and celebrate the one life I’ve been given.

So Why Charity: Water?

I don’t know if you remember the “ALS Bucket Challenge” earlier this year. It was fun and an amazing testimony to what happens when people start talking and sharing and working together. I was blown away by the huge amount of money raised for that cause and I hope it makes a life long impact for many.

I was also a little distressed that at the same time this challenge was happening that Charity:Water was trying to raise a comparatively very small $1 million to fully fund a water project in the Sudan, and they were struggling to get there.

I’ve got a vested interest in water projects. A friend of ours works overseas to help clean water systems work for desolate and desperate communities. Following their story has been a lesson in patience and perseverance and celebration.

I believe in what Charity:Water is doing, in its simplicity and in its legacy impact. It is the thing that calls to my heart, perhaps it will call to yours too?

*I’ll be pointing back to this post every Friday in November but no guilt if you can’t give or this is not the thing on your heart right now. This is not how everyone is called to give. Right now this is what I’m doing, I’d love to hear about what you are doing and where your heart is these days!

Leave a Reply

