(31 Days) A Difficult Mind: Day 1

In October bloggers get together and blog for 31 days on the same topic. This is a first for me so we will see how it goes. Welcome aboard.

Keller

For the next 31 Days I want to share with you what it means to live with a difficult mind and still find joy. I’ve been sitting with this quote first brought to my attention by Rebekah Lyons “Hope and sorrow in it all there’s rescue and there’s not.”

These days we measure people by their looks, their work, their family, their brains. None of it okay.

Somone once said that “We are human beings, not human doings.”

I’ve been thinking about this measurement a lot. I’ve blogged here for years on and off and while I’ve alluded to this, I’ve never really said it, I have a neurodiverse child.

I haven’t said it because I don’t want to be measured.

I haven’t said it because it is scary.

I haven’t said it because I don’t want to be judged.

I haven’t said it because I don’t want my son to be judged.

I haven’t said it because I don’t want pity.

I haven’t said it because it had not been on my heart to say.

I am saying it now.

In this season, at this time, it needs to be said.

Someone needs to hear that it will be okay.

I need to be reminded that there is pain but there is also joy.

I am saying this without fear.

I am saying this to bring good into the world.

I have a neurodiverse child. He is 7.5 and he has Aspergers.

He is brilliant.

He is mind boggling

He is strong.

He is aggressive.

He loves Star Wars.

He is direct.

He is a great athlete.

He is willful.

He stands up for his siblings.

He fights with everyone.

And yet…hope and sorrow in it all there’s rescue and there’s not…Welcome to my next 31 Days…

6 thoughts on “(31 Days) A Difficult Mind: Day 1

  1. Don’t know if I am doing this right, but here goes. Being the mother of a very Special Girl Child, who is now 42, brings back to me years of joy, hurt and love, I could tell you stories of unconscionable behavior toward her and of her deep, compassionate love of all who would love her.

    God made Elizabeth just the way she is and her dad and I would not change anything about her. Am writing this from Congo – must go – will write again if that is what I’m supposed to do. Thanks Rachael Judd and Rachel Shew for what you have written.

Leave a Reply

