Lessons From My Jeweler…

Rings

I remember standing at the counter, not yet married and the jeweler saying “Now when you do get married come back and we will solder your rings together. They will be stronger and last longer.”

I never did.

Last week after mowing our lawn I looked down. My engagement ring had been flattened on the back side from the vibrations of the mower.

As my wedding rings are on their way to be rounded, cleaned and soldered together, I am left with these thoughts…

Two are stronger than one. This applies to marriage, motherhood, friendship…Jesus. My marriage can handle more when my husband and I work side by side. My kids are more responsive when I have listening ears and am working with them, not against them. Friendship reaches new depths when we go all in. My relationship with God deepens when I spend time at the feet of Jesus and not just look at the Bible on my bookshelf. To achieve the beautiful heart things in life it so very often takes two, existing next to each other, building a heart tie that binds.

Sometimes we flatten out. We get bumped and bruised on our journey as we are molded and trimmed into our true selves. It’s okay. In those moments we need to go to God, get rounded out, cleaned up and joined back together with the Jesus who loves us.

Connection is a process. I didn’t get my rings soldered together because part of me liked the thought of them being apart. I liked the idea of 2 rings instead of one, of 2 stories instead of one. Yet, our relationships bind us. We become one when we give the pieces of ourselves away to each other, but this can take time. Putting my selfish desires aside, giving myself fully and completely – even to the point of sacrificial love – that kind of intimate connection takes time.

Listen to the jeweler. Our instructions are often clear and simple. Love because I loved you. Be patient. Be still. And yet in my hurry to do my own thing my own way I ignore the simple instructions. Over time weakness sets in until total reconstruction is required.

Where are you weak today? Where do you need to connect? What piece of your heart needs reconstruction?

Might I encourage you to find some time to visit the ultimate Jeweler today…

Two are better than one, because they have a good reward for their toil. For if they fall, one will lift up his fellow. But woe to him who is alone when he falls and has not another to lift him up! Again, if two lie together, they keep warm, but how can one keep warm alone? And though a man might prevail against one who is alone, two will withstand him—a threefold cord is not quickly broken.” ~Ecclesiastes 4:9-12

Linking up today with: Unforced Rhythms

2 thoughts on “Lessons From My Jeweler…

  1. How incredible that even an afternoon of mowing and a misshapen ring can invite us to see deeper. You have eyes that see and a heart that hears. That’s only one reason why I love you so much, Rachael.

    Thanks for linking with Unforced Rhythms.

Leave a Reply

