Processing Out Loud

I’m processing out loud today (can I even do that since you can’t really hear me?!?)…I know you are just super interested in how my crazy little brain functions (or not!)…but hang in there with me for a minute.

Recently in the middle of a God Talk by Rebekah Lyons the question was asked “What keeps you up at night, what burdens you?”

Now, to be totally honest, I’m not much of a worrier, I haven’t been for a long time. I am pretty confident there is not very much in this world that I can truly control so why even try. My fate is in God’s hands. If I can just give what I have today I’m at least moving in the right direction.

I know this isn’t everyone, but it is me. (Us realist types can be hard to deal with sometimes, I really do apologize!) So the particular question of what keeps me up at night, what burdens me, was particularly intriguing.

You see, there are things that keep me up at night, and there are things that burden me, but they are not things that I am worried about. I’ve always associated burden with worry, but I think I was wrong. Instead I lay awake over things that I have questions about or am intrigued by. Things that make me wonder and things that stop me in my tracks.

For years I have wondered what in the world was the point of this blog, or writing at all. Was I selfishly looking for something for myself through it? Was I really trying to encourage others? Was I merely writing to write or maybe just keeping a true log of my life process?

At anytime I think it has been all those things and none of those things. Most of the time it just is. But in that moment of thinking about what keeps me up at night, what really burdens me, it’s you.

You, the person reading this right now (bless you for enduring such irregular blubbering!). Each and every person that stops and reads has some things in common…

1. Most of you are women (Let’s hear it for the ladies!)

2. A lot of you are moms (And if that isn’t just hard work…)

3. I know or have encountered you in person or online because you were/are in transition

You see that 3rd thing…that, that is what I’m pondering today.

We are all in constant process. Yet process and transition are different.

Process is what happens every day. We learn something new, we change a bad habit, we alter how we do something every so slightly.

But transition. Transition doesn’t happen all the time. A lot of us would call transitions the “seasons” of our lives. Singleness to Married life. Childlessness to motherhood. Not working to paid employment (or vice versa).

Transition is bigger than process. Sure, both processing and transitions are interconnected. They cross paths and impact one another. But while we are always in process we are not always in transition.

I’m stopping there today…just letting that all sink in. Thinking of you. Thinking of me. Thinking of life. Thinking of Jesus. Join me?

4 thoughts on “Processing Out Loud

  1. Pingback: Testimony and Transition | To Be A Mom...

  2. Pingback: Transition MEANS Something… | To Be A Mom...

  3. Pingback: Transitions and Empathy | To Be A Mom...

  4. Pingback: Empathy…the Gift that Keeps on Giving | To Be A Mom...

Leave a Reply

