So much grace, So much hope

Hug!

How many times have you said “I’m with you on that.” or “Yes, I’ll do that with you.” And how many times have you really held up your end of that commitment?

Recently I spent some time with a friend and I was able to experience exactly what it means to really be WITH someone.

You see, my oldest is having some life difficulties.  Since he’s only 6, his life difficulties affect the whole family. It can be frustrating and demanding and as a mom, just downright embarrassing to deal with.

A  friend and I had an opportunity to meet up and bring our kids along for a few days of fun and refreshment. Mere hours into this little adventure I realized fun and refreshment may not be on the agenda for the weekend.

As I stood in the middle of a public place, tears beginning to fall, my friend reminded me that she was there, WITH me.  She instantly sprang to my side, gave me a much needed squeeze, asked if she could do anything and when I was too emotionally exhausted to respond, she made sure my daughter was taken care of and that my son was stable.

In this difficult season I felt as if my friend was truly WITH me. She did not make me feel embarrassed or incompetent, she did not withdraw or make a scene. She stood with me, in my weakness, like a rock.

Friends, this is what scripture means when it says

“…walk in a manner worthy of the calling to which you have been called, with all humility and gentleness, with patience, bearing with one another in love…” Ephesians 4:1-2

My sweet friend was Jesus to me in that moment. We are sisters in Christ and it was her calling in that moment to be truly with me, in body and in spirit.

Each moment counts! Each time we choose to be truly with someone instead of simply next to them, near them or just around them, we can be Jesus in their lives.

Small? Simple? Maybe.  Insignificant, no. My friend blessed me in many ways in our short hours together, but this moment, this moment held so much grace, so much hope that here, long after the moment has passed, my heart is still full and I am able to continue in these difficult days because of her.

Today, be with someone. You never know what opportunity God has given you to change a life.

One thought on “So much grace, So much hope

Leave a Reply

