Today I declare my joy!

I want to remind you that good things do happen. Really, how often do we get caught up in the world of complaining and judging all in the name of having an opinion, Facebook status or just something to say? In the world of social media and instant news it seems to me we still hear more negative things than positive.

Today I just want to remind you that there are positive things going on in the world AND not all positive things are news events but there is joy in the world. The Psalmist had a good thing going when he decided to declare joy constantly

“My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food, and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips, when I remember you upon my bed, and meditate on you in the watches of the night; for you have been my help, and in the shadow of your wings I will sing for joy. My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me.” (Psalm 63:5-8)

So today I declare my joy!

For 4 years my husband has been travelling for his job. We are thankful for his job, how it supports our family and the security it provides. We are thankful for my husband and all he sacrifices to do his job well. But it hasn’t been without its struggles. Travelling means extensive time away, missing special occasions and spending precious time at home recovering from all the travel.

Joy. My husband’s job, while exactly the same, will now require significantly less travel. Blessings.

At any moment in the last 4 years this could have happened. But God chose now, this year, this time, this place.

My soul clings to God even more so now, for He has upheld us but he has also blessed us. He is gifting us with time. Time with each other, time with our community, time with Him.

Now it is more significant than ever that we share this joy, God’s joy, in such a way that everyone we come in contact with is filled.

Where will you find joy today? How will you give it away?

Name

Leave a Reply

