Princesses and Poise, or lack there of.

3.5 years.  It is a fairly short amount of time. (It takes 4 years to graduate college and that is focused study on one subject.)  So why do I think my 3.5 year old should know it all and respond perfectly?

My 3.5yr old princess
My 3.5yr old princess

The drama that comes with having (and apparently being) a 3.5 year old girl and my no nonsense personality often clash. Combined with the fact that I am an adult who doesn’t remember my own Tinkerbell stage and who occasionally rolls my eyes at all this silliness, princess poise hasn’t shown up a lot lately.

And then of course I read articles and blogs like this , this and this and begin to wonder. (And also appreciate the simple truths others bring to the table.) 

What am I not getting? Why am I lacking in simple compassion towards my own child? Why is my frustration about other things in life coming out in my “mom voice” with my 3.5 year old?

I haven’t figured it all out but I do know this, I’m still a work in progress. I have not conquered motherhood, womanhood or life.

I must live in grace.

I am in my own “princess” phase. I still throw fits about things that don’t matter, cross my arms in disgust and momentarily lose my ability to express myself in the right words. Sure, they are adult things, but my response is just like my daughter’s.

The more I think about it, the more I know that God wants for me, what I want for her.

To have listening ears: To hear what God has to say to her. To know in her heart that God loves her unconditionally. To be able to hear the needs of those around her.

An obeying heart: To live out of the overflow of what she knows God wants her to do. To obey out of a desire to show love to God. To have a sincere desire to serve those around her because she believes so deeply that God has given the ultimate sacrifice for her.

My daughter and I both have a princess complex.  We are daughters of The King. I am her role model on the poise of the princess life. How I respond to her, look at her, speak to her and treat her should be in the same manner The King does these things for me.

Grace. Learning,  living and loving all because of grace.

“But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ – by grace you have been saved – and raise us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly place in Christ Jesus, so that in the coming ages he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus.  For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is a gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast. For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them.”  ~Ephesians 2:4-10 (ESV)

Name

One thought on “Princesses and Poise, or lack there of.

Leave a Reply

