Toddler Tuesday: Thou shalt not yell…

Today is a Q & A…if you have a mom thought you’d like us to discuss email me at rachael (d0t) judd (at) gmail (d0t) com

{Credit}

Q: Someone suggested teaching our kids to be peaceful and having a peaceful spirit in our home.  I know there are a lot of things we could work on as a family, but I was really convicted about this one.  I don’t ever want my kids to grow up in a home where they feel like things are stressful, chaotic, and the exact opposite of peace.  I want home to be their safe place.  I feel like this is something I see in your home, and I was wondering if you could give me any insight into some of the things that you do to create a peaceful spirit in your home/family?

A: Mama, I think this is GREAT! You have to start somewhere! Off the top of my head here are a few things to consider…

1. What are some scriptures that talk about peace? Find them, read them, re-read them. Put them in your Bible and around your home. We have to know WHY we are striving for peace or we will lose heart. (See Deut. 6:4-9)

2. What does it mean to speak peace? It is more than just speaking softly or saying nothing. Think about what it would be to replace non-peaceful words with gospel truth? Maybe your child can’t understand it all now but we have to practice doing this. If we cease yelling but don’t replace it with anything we still haven’t changed.

3. Pray about it. It’s amazing how prayer changes OUR hearts.

4. A couple books for reference would be “Give Them Grace” and “Raising Kids Who Turn Out Right“. Also, if discipline is an issue check out “Creative Correction“. (“Give Them Grace” has had a big impact on my life over the last six months)

5. When you feel like screaming, whisper. This sounds ridiculous but even an angry whisper is a step in the right direction. A whisper will soften your heart and slow you down.

There is no magic solution but I have learned that most parenting changes come from a sincere heart change within me, the parent. Without the heart change we have actions and words without conviction behind it. And what better conviction to have than God’s Word and His Grace in our life!

You’re doing great!

Leave a Reply

