Toddler Tuesday: You Are Who I Am

Who I am is affecting who my child is becoming.  

Who is that 2yr old in the mirror?

4yr old:  Chapstick please?

Me:  Not right now.

4yr old:  “Oh man.” *giggle, giggle, giggle*

2yr old:  Chapstick please?

Me:  Not right now.

2yr old:  “Oh man.” *giggle, giggle, giggle*

Repeat…

This went on for about 5 minutes.  By the time this silly exchange was over we were all laughing hysterically.  However, what struck me about it was the way both my kids say “Oh man.”  They sound just like me!

I shouldn’t be that surprised.  We try and use family friendly language and expressions around our house and I say “oh man” and awful lot.

However, it got me thinking.  In light of my thoughts on being free and being me (yesterday’s post) I am also struck that my own personal grasp on being free affects my kids.

For instance, when I let loose and get silly with them I leave a different impression on them then when I hold back. You know, because another mom I don’t know at the playground might be watching and think I’m crazy.

But when am I the best mom to my kids?  When I am down on the ground, being crazy, laughing right next to them!  This is what they will remember about their toddler hood, their play time, and I want to be a part of it!

So, who I am is affecting who my child is becoming.  When I am feel prompted to get down, dirty and silly I should act on that impulse.  Why? First, because it is who I am at heart, it is a true reflection of myself. Second, it helps create memories for me and my children. Third, I want my kids to feel the freedom to be who they are, and that might just be being silly!

What about you?  Maybe your inclination isn’t to be silly and crazy but if you look at your day with your toddler is there somewhere you are holding back? Is there something you do daily where you “do the adult thing”, “do the Dr. Sears thing” or “do what everyone else is doing” instead of going with your gut? You know your child better than anyone, why let someone else dictate to you how to engage them?

I want to encourage you to embrace YOU!  Go with your gut!  You are the only parent your child gets to have, don’t hold back!

Being authentic with our kids starts with being authentic with ourselves. Our ability to be authentic will give them the freedom to do the same.

Be the person you want your child to be!

What will you try to do differently this week?

Leave a Reply

