Financial Friday: Getting Organized!

Do you ever go through seasons where you are more or less organized?  I am in one of those right now with our finances.

by somegeekintn

I am generally very organized and on top of things but between my husband’s schedule, being pregnant and dealing with life I haven’t been as good at keeping up with our finances as I’d like to be. I’m trying to get back on track – here is where I’m at, if you have suggestions I’d love to hear them!

1.  Make time to deal search and coupon.  It actually takes time to do both these things.  Looking at websites, print ads or other local resources can be time consuming.  I’ve fallen out of practice because I have not given this the time in my day that it deserves.  30  minutes a day should be more than enough to visit my favorite sites, go through any print ads for the day and organize any shopping lists.  30 minutes a day is more than 3 hours a week, plenty for my kind of savings!

2. Revisit our needs.  Do we really need 2 kinds of shampoo or will 1 do? Is everyone sufficiently stocked for the next season or do I need to bargain hunt for a few items?  If I have an ongoing list of what we need versus what we want I am less likely to make an impulse buy.  Now is also a great time to take that “wants” list and turn it into a Christmas list for the members of your family!

3. Reevaluate the ongoing expenses.  I usually do this every month.  I take a look at our reoccurring expenses and see if there is anything I can cut back on, cut out or readjust to use our finances more wisely.  I haven’t done this since July.  With fall in full force I am sure there are some adjustments we can make to prepare for the colder indoor months of winter, I just need to sit down and figure out what they are.

So what do you do to get your finances better organized?  Any thoughts or suggestions for me?  Leave me a comment and let me know!

Leave a Reply

