Toddler Tuesday: Quiet Confidence

by mehul.antani

Sometimes I don’t give my toddlers enough credit. They really are great little people.  They do more than I expect, are smarter than I imagine and are wonderful little contributors to our family life!  I was reminded that they deserve more credit this week by my son.

I woke up at 1am in the morning thinking that I left a door open or someone was breaking in. After I came to a bit I realized it was storming and it was the neighbors porch door, but something just felt off.

I rolled out of bed, put on my glasses and looked out my bedroom door.  All seemed well.  I headed to the kitchen for a glass of water and noticed something moving out of the corner of my eye.

It was my son.  He was wrapped up in an afghan on the couch with his bear and pillow, still as can be.

I knelt down and realized he was still awake.  Our conversation went something like this:

Me: Are you ok?

Son: Yes.

Me: Why are you on the couch?

Son: It was loud from rain.

Me: Are you sure you are ok?

Son: Yes, I’m just sleeping here, I didn’t want to wake you up.

My son just turned 4. He generally exerts his independence by trying to get his way.  But this week, he showed me his independence in another way. He had a problem and solved it himself without input or help.  He also solved a problem in the midst of being a bit scared and uncomfortable.

Our kids often possess a quiet confidence that we need to recognize.

When my son woke up I reminded him of how proud I was of him for finding a place to sleep and being very quiet. I let him know how much I appreciated him respecting the late night and being so quiet.

Of course I would have welcomed him waking me up and asking for help but I also take heart in knowing he is beginning to solve some of his own small problems.

Has your child surprised you lately? How?
Make sure you tell them how you feel and share with us in the comments below!

One thought on “Toddler Tuesday: Quiet Confidence

  1. Great wisdom there mom…hats off to you for encouraging your son and affirming him! BTU, Tracey (I enjoy spending some time on your site – keep writing and encouraging!)

Leave a Reply

