Travel Thursday: Time to Give

by Chicago Art Department

Awhile back I wrote that one of the upsides of having a travel spouse was time. The question is, what do you do with the time you have?  Even if you don’t have a spouse that travels I am sure there are hours you could reallocate or minutes you don’t fill.

Now, I am a big advocate of rest. Rest is how we recharge, enjoy quiet and find time with God.

However, I confess that often I find myself “resting” in things that aren’t really restful.  Hours on Facebook, T.V. and texting. Minutes wasted sitting around when there are important things to be done in my home.

So, I’ll ask again, what do you do with the time that you have?

Since my spouse travels 20+ days a month I have more time than most women.  I am a stay at home mom to 2 kids, have a part time job at our church and do some freelance writing on the side.  I have plenty to keep me busy.  But, when I look at all those things where am I generously giving of my time, for free, with no expectation of return?

As moms, we often feel emotionally and physically drained, as if we can not give another minute to anyone or anything. In those times it is when God calls you to rest “Come to me all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28.

As moms, we also have the capacity to give more than we imagine we can.  It is in those moments that we need to step out in faith and give “…but the righteous is generous and gives” Psalm 37:21b

If you are a mom, particularly a mom of a traveling spouse or a stay at home mom I want to challenge you to take an assessment of your time and ask the question:  Where am I giving my time outside of myself and my family?

Here are some ideas to get you started:

Around the Neighborhood:  Do you have a local Chamber of Commerce or Main Street organization?  Contact them and see if there is a way to serve your community.  Maybe there is a quarterly or monthly clean up day or perhaps you can volunteer at a tourist center or event. Getting to know your neighbors and community leaders is a great way to get connected and give back to those around you.

At a Favorite Spot:  Do you enjoy the park?  Contact the Park District and see if they have volunteer opportunities?  Do you send your kids to the YMCA?  Contact the director and see if they could use an extra set of hands some where.  Are you an avid biker?  Contact your local bike shop and see if you can help them out.

At Church:  Call your children’s director and see if they have a way you can serve during the week.  Maybe you can help make pieces for an activity, clean toys or organize the resource room.  These are things you can usually do when you have time and you could even do them with your kids, what a great way to show your kids how to serve.

Life is busy but don’t forget to give back.

From an hour a month to an hour a day find a way to use what you have and take time out to give.

Leave a Reply

