Toddler Tuesday: Get Toned!

by AlishaV

When my day starts off with my 4 yr old telling me he doesn’t want to go potty followed by a 5 minute discussion on the topic I know it is going to be a long day. It doesn’t take long for me to go from nice mom to frustrated ruler of the roost.

It is in these moments where I need to get toned. For me the first thing that gets out of control is my voice. My nice calm, even, tone gets loud and unpredictable as I get more frustrated.

Most kids, at least mine, don’t respond all that well to a frustrated voice. Occasionally I am so ridiculous they look at me like I’m crazy, and they are probably right.

So let’s get toned! It is a work out for sure but like any good exercise will definitely pay off in the end.

Step 1 – Check the equipment: This is an easy one. Is your voice working? Yes – great, you have exactly what you need to get started.

Step 2 – Mental Preparation: What are you trying to accomplish and why? I am trying to create an environment in my home that is overflowing with love. I have adopted this verse as my mental preparation “Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruits.” (Proverbs 18:21)

Step 3 – Reps: Breath In, Breath Out. Repeat. Before you speak the next phrase just breath. Think about it. We were breathed into existence. By taking the time to breath before we speak, we are breathing new life into our words.

Step 4 – Speak: What we speak is really all in how we prepare isn’t it? By step four you should be in a mental state to speak slowly, calmly and lovingly – even when it is the 50th time you have given your toddler the same request.

Remember…”A soft answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.” (Proverbs 15:1)

Speak softly and enjoy the love!

Leave a Reply

