h1

Other mothers babies…

August 26, 2014

photo

There I sat. On the couch with a pint sized diaper made for the naked baby doll sitting next to me. As I tried to figure out exactly how all the pieces fit I thought…

“Seriously. I do not have the time or the energy for someone else’s baby.”

And right there, on the couch, with a half dressed baby doll in my lap, my eyes welled up and I started to cry. It was as if I was looking at myself in a mirror and the only thing I could see was my own selfishness, and it was ugly.

Not only do I have the time and the energy for someone else’s baby, at this particular moment in my life, it is my calling.

 

Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like a man who looks at his face in a mirror  and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like.  But the man who looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues to do this, not forgetting what he has heard, but doing it–he will be blessed in what he does. If anyone considers himself religious and yet does not keep a tight rein on his tongue, he deceives himself and his religion is worthless. Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.” (James 1:22-27)

 

I actually want to care for someone else’s baby.

I want to say encouraging words to the single mom at the grocery store whose baby is crying. I want to say yes to the neighbor who needs an extra set of hands. I want to give respite to the weary parent who just needs a few hours on her own.

I want to take that crying baby and bounce him up and down the aisle of the grocery store. I want to invite that child in to enjoy their time at my home. I want to provide refreshment and a meal to that little one so they can return home calm and peaceful.

I will say yes when the opportunity arises.

And I will care for babies I have never met or held. I will pray for that friends second cousin who is struggling through her pregnancy. I will encourage the women around me to reach out and love just one baby that isn’t theirs (will you?). I will give so that one mamas baby will survive.

 

I will finish dressing this baby doll. And when I hand it to my sweet 2.5 year old I will smile and tell her that her baby is all clean and dressed and ready to be loved.

Maybe one day, she will love someone else’s babies too.

 

 

Linking this week with Unforced Rhythms

3 comments

  1. This is a beautiful calling you have. Blessings to you, strength of heart and body, and grace spilling over as you walk this out.


    • Thanks for reading. It’s a beautiful thing to be called. Many blessings to you as you live that out in your own life.


  2. I love how your heart and tears spilled all over the page in words here. Thanks for coming to my place this week. I am glad to have visited here!



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 365 other followers

